8 comments on “If Only It Was Fiction…

  1. I’m so sorry all of this happened. Those are… really obnoxious insertions that you quoted above. Apparently things are changing because I have done the final edit of my story for SciFi and given it back with the assurance that it will not be edited again. Good luck with your writing and I hope to read something by you at some point (was hoping to see your story from Horror since I was given a PDF to review on my blog but I see it was taken out… I did notice an abundance of punctuation issues throughout).

    I’ll keep an eye on your blog for your announcement of your next publication so I can buy it!

    • Thank you, Joanna. I really appreciate the your comments. And I’m glad you are getting approval over your story edits. Seems as though I started a wild fire amongst the contributers, because the ones I could find weren’t all that pleased with the undercover editing that took place, but it seems as though I’m the only one that had theirs pulled. I was given the option of having my original MS put back in its place, but when it comes down to it, it’s the principle of the whole damn thing. And from what I’ve been told on the hush-hush, he’s not looked highly upon by a certain regional chapter of the HWA.

      Thanks again. (I was planning on buying the Acane Magazine issue with your story in it as soon as it comes out, so keep us informed on FB and your blog.)

      P.S. Big Book of New Short Horror (from Pill Hill Press) should be coming out in early to mid September with my story “With Many Thanks to Newark”. I’m extremely excited about this one.

      • It was probably good that you started the wildfire; otherwise, many other people would probably get screwed the way you did.

        Congrats on that one–I’d meant to submit something to that anthology but totally missed the deadline. Looking forward to it coming out though.

  2. Really sorry to hear about this. It really sucks and, though I don’t have personal experience, it’s the stuff of my nightmares. I can still remember the nearly overwhelming excitement that came with my first anthology acceptance and nobody deserves to have that squashed.

    On the bright side, I’ve worked with Pill Hill Press a couple of times before and if past experience says anything, then you have a box full of shiny, happy anthologies coming to you before too long. Well, as happy as a horror anthology can be. So, yay!

    • I imagine this is Lesley Conner (hey!) from Big Book? Yes, I’m sooooo excited about Big Book! Pill Hill really seems to have their stuff together. I hope I didn’t come off like a dick on the Pill Hill message board a few weeks ago when I freaked about my name missing on the TOC.

      BTW, did you see that everyone’s reading times have changed for Horrorfind? Looks like I’m sharing the last reading slot of the weekend at 4:00-5:00 pm on Sunday. Hopefully we’ll run into each other at some point, otherwise I’ll try to make your reading.

      Thanks!

      • Yeah, this is Lesley Conner from Big Book. I have a few stories in Pill Hill anthologies, and they haven’t disappointed me yet. Great looking books with great stories, so I’m sure you’ll be happy with the finished product.

        I did see that the reading times changed. Maybe we’ll run into each other before then, but if not, Sunday for sure.

        Were you at Horrible Saturday at the York Emporium? For some reason I’m thinking that you were. If so, I was the crazy woman chasing her kid all over the place. That girl wears me out!

  3. Yeah, Lesley, that was me at Horrible Saturday. I was pretty much the only person in there that looked like he wasn’t from PA (hehe). I sort of remember a little girl running around, but not much else.

  4. Pingback: Enough is Enough « Wesley Southard

Leave a Reply

