One comment on “What I Left Behind / What I Became

  1. I’m guessing I’m just a few years older than you, but made almost all the same mistakes. I didn’t move out, but like yourself I was determined to be a musician. My epiphany happened in a fit of desperation due to depression. I had no money, no job, no musical equipment left to play or sell. I did have a pen and paper, and books. I wrote 8 poems in one night, all of which I planned to destroy the following morning. My ex saw them and demanded that I hold on to them.

    A year later, that terrifying choice was made for me: she left me. It’s been nearly a year removed, and I’m writing almost daily, reading more than I ever have, and have found peace within my stories and poems. I’ve gotten my stories out there for people to read, and the poems are coming up shortly. So the most terrifying choice that I’ve had to make for myself was simply to get off my ass and work at my dream, not at a job.

    Thanks very much for sharing, and letting me share a cliffnotes version of the last few years of my life.

Leave a Reply

